Sydney Tharrington Elected President Marine Square Club

Walter Thorsen, president, Walter Thorsen Inc. and past president of the Marine Square > Club, recently announced the election and installation of officers in the Marine Square Club. The officers are as follows: Comdr. Sydney Tharrington, USCG (ret.), Amoco International Oil Company, president; Gerhart Malunet, American Bureau of Shipping, first vice president.

The r e m a i n i n g officers are: Bruce Batalie, second vice president; Otto Myer, t r e a s u r e r ; George Allen, secretary; Albert Estes and Comdr. Albert Schroeder masters-at-arms.

Twelve members were elected to the board of governors with Gerhart Malunet, first vice president, as chairman of the board.

A total of 22 committee members were elected. Probably the best-known in the marine industry is the Banquet Committee with Wilbur Stiles, Victory Carriers, chairman, and James Bergstrom, Texaco Marine Department, vice chairman.

The Marine Square Club has just completed its 50th successful year of operation. It is an organization of men in the Masonic Fraternity affiliated with the marine industry. Its primary objective is promotion of brotherhood within the industry, and to further and support the marine industry in general.

It has a number of activities planned for the coming year. The most prominent is its Annual Banquet.

The proceeds of the banquet go to the Scholarship Fund of the Maritime College, Fort Schuyler, N.Y.

Other stories from March 1978 issue


Maritime Reporter

First published in 1881 Maritime Reporter is the world's largest audited circulation publication serving the global maritime industry.